Imaging and Data Visualisation Reflection

In my second semester of Animation we started our new modules one of which was Imaging and Data Visualisation. Imaging and Data Visualisation involved two tasks, this was to build a “Floating City” in Autodesk Maya and then present the data in a visual way which is done in teams and then the second task was to model our own head using Autodesk Maya. Both projects allowed me to learn a lot about modelling and Autodesk Maya, and I do really enjoy modelling in Maya so I was excited for each of these projects. I loved learning about Rome in the Floating City project and being able to take Rome and imagine what it would be like to have it as a floating city. I would have loved to be able to do more for the project though because I heard about it before joining the course and I loved seeing the now second year work for it.

The head model project was also something I was excited for, from the get go I was researching tutorials and looking at what way was best for me to do it. It was really interesting learning more about topology, even though I’m not sure if I got my topology right in my head model, it was still fun to do and the human face in general, I would love to create a character and rig the face, to actually bring your own character to life is something that I always find enjoyable and rewarding. I felt I learnt a lot with this module and I want to keep improving and becoming better modelling, as well as to of course keep learning from my mistakes with the help from very informative tutors. I hope to be able to find what area I excel in and what I really want to do in animation.

Overall Imaging and Data Visualisation was a very interesting module that I felt I have learnt a lot from, it was very challenging in parts. I also learned that time management is key and that you should never be controlled by the machine, let loose.

Once again thank you for such a great first year of animation.

Leave a Reply

